Life is like a box of chocolates…

white chocolate to be more specific… I don’t particularly care for milk or dark.

So lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about life and all the blessings I have in mine. I have a wonderful husband who works hard to make sure that we always have everything we need, want, or desire (minus a puppy… but I’m working on it :p). We have a beautiful baby boy, who rumor has it is the easiest child in the history of the world… or so they tell me. We have amazing family and friends who are always there for us. We have been blessed with sooo much it’s sometimes overwhelming (but in a good way).

Well, even with all these blessings, these past few days have just been… hard days. You know, the kind of day where you just don’t want to do anything… Thank goodness for Carter, or I’m pretty sure I would just have stayed in bed all day. Maybe I’m the only person who gets this way, but sometimes I just am not feeling it… The worst part is that I don’t have a reason to feel this way. Everything is amazing in my life, nothing is going wrong or bad, like I said before, we are very blessed.

So last night when as I was starting to fall asleep, I took a deep breath, but was cut short. There was a sharp pain in my chest and every time I tried to take a deep breath, it hurt so bad, I just couldn’t. I tried to breathe deep a few more times… each time being met with the same sharp pain in my ribs and the wind being knocked out of me.

Obviously, I’m the level headed one in this relationship!

Well, knowing me, and the calm, cool, collected person that I am (just look at this picture if you don’t believe me), I started to hyperventilate and told Daniel I was gonna die. It hurt so bad I really thought I was! All I could think or even say was, “I’m not ready to die!” Daniel, at this point, stepped in. He, rather sternly, told me that I was in fact, NOT going to die and helped me calm down so I could breath again.

Turns out that it was just an air bubble in my chest (Daniel told me that’s what it was last night, but I didn’t entirely believe him so I looked it up… he was right), nothing serious but man did it hurt! But, as much as it hurt, I’m glad it happened. I learned something very important… I’m definitely NOT ready to die…

It got me thinking that maybe I need to change the way I live and the things I do, so that if the time ever came, I would be ready. That’s not to say that if I was ready I’d just give up and die. I  just want to be the BEST person I can and strive to bring happiness to all those around me, so if my time did come, I’d be okay with it. I know, I know… that’s how I should be living everyday, but sometimes you just lose perspective. You forget how short life really is…

Today in the news, there was a story about a shooting that happened in Colorado. They said it was the biggest shooting since 2009. At least twelve dead and fifty injured. The people who died, were at a midnight showing of Batman, when an armed man broke into the theater and started shooting. In a statement about the shooting, President Obama said, “As we do when confronted by moments of darkness and challenge, we must now come together as one American family. All of us must have the people of Aurora in our thoughts and prayers as they confront the loss of family, friends, and neighbors.” This tragedy really puts things into perspective… for everyone.

Life is too short. In an instant you could leave behind all the people you love. And while I know eternally, families are forever, I don’t want to leave them with a shadow of a doubt; of my love for them or of my faith. So here’s a resolve to be a better person than I was yesterday. To smile more, laugh often, and always remember my Savior and the sacrifice he made for me.

No one is perfect, but we can all strive to do and be a little better. One day at a time, with the help of those we love and our Father in Heaven, I think we can all be prepared for the inevitable day when we leave this earthly life and return back to our heavenly home.

2 thoughts on “Life is like a box of chocolates…

  1. Chelsea, you are wonderful! And we all have down days. It’s normal. The point is to have more positive days than negative days, and you’ll be all right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

