Car Trouble

So the day before we came on our road trip, I took the car into Jiffy Lube for an oil change. Coupon in hand, I was determined to get in and out of there in under $30. Ha! I guess I’m just a sucker for “upgrades” or something because I always leave $60 poorer… Anyways, this time I was determined.

Turns out our safety and emissions was due at the end of the month, as well as our registration… Sooo $190 later, I had an oil change, a clean air filter, a new registration sticker and the peace of mind that my car was “safe” for the 800 mile drive to California.

Fast forward to two days ago, and I go to start the car, and it putters and dies…. My parents were at work, I didn’t know any of our neighbors, and our car was dead… No bueno!

Well turns out there are nice people everywhere because the neighbor across the street saw us pop the hood and offered to jump our car! What a nice man… He was the Mister Rogers of good neighbors.

So we go on our merry way, hopping that we just accidentally killed the battery by leaving the light on over night or something (even though we knew we didn’t)

The next day I go out to give my younger sisters a ride to band camp and low and behold, the car is dead. What are the odds our nice neighbor would be out washing his car again… Not so good…

Luckily my older sister was coming out to spend the day with us, so she jumped our car, and off to Auto Zone we went.

Can I just say I LOVE Auto Zone! I have never had a bad experience there. This is truly a company I will support to the bitter end! They are always super helpful and friendly. I just love them.

Anywho, we went to Auto Zone and he checked our alternator and battery. Alternators good (phew)… battery, not so good… S0 we had to get a new one. We went with the 5 year warranty so it ended up costing about $100. Not bad.

You would think with a new battery, our car would be  happy? Nope. Our ABS light is now on….

Moral of the story? Safety and Emissions…. useless

One thought on “Car Trouble

  1. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a less than positive experience when you visited one of the Jiffy Lube service centers. We value our customers and the last thing we want to do is let you down. We would like to know more about this experience. Could you please provide the name the vehicle was serviced under? Please feel free to contact us with any additional feedback you might have. Thanks

Leave a Reply

