What Matters Most

Yesterday for family night, we watched this video.

I love President Monson, he is such a sweet and sincere man. This video really brings to light the importance of family and friends. Those we care for the most are sometimes the ones we forget to thank the most. I often get so wrapped up in cleaning the house, doing the laundry and dishes, and making sure dinner is ready to go when Daniel gets home (which rarely happens), that I forget what is most important.

When Daniel gets home and Carter is fussing, dinner is barely started and the house is a mess, I sometimes spend all my time beating myself up for not being better that I forget. I forget that Daniel loves me and doesn’t care if I sometimes don’t get everything done. I forget that he too had a long day, maybe not taking care of a baby, but working and going to school full time, so that I can stay home. I forget to thank him and tell him how much I care for him. I forget what matters most.

Thanksgiving seems to be one of those holidays that really gets skipped (at least in the retail world). It seems as soon as Halloween is over, Christmas stuff is immediately up for sale. I guess it kind of makes sense, you can’t buy gratitude, and isn’t that what Thanksgiving is all about?

I am so thankful for all the people in my life who do and care so much for me! I’m thankful for a loving husband who sometimes needs to remind me it’s okay not to be perfect. I’m thankful for my baby boy who loves and needs me, even when I feel like he is all grown up and independent. I love and miss my family in California but am so grateful for all the love and support they offer. I don’t know how many times I’ve called home bawling about something or other and they are always so willing to take the time to listen. I am also super thankful for Daniel’s family. They all have really welcomed me into the family. I never thought I  would be so close to my in-laws, but I truly consider them part of my family. I’m thankful for friends, new and old, they do so much for me sometimes I feel like thank you isn’t enough.

Finally, I am thankful for my Heavenly Father. He has blessed me in so many ways. I can’t imagine my life without him. He hears and answers my prayers, and I know that without his help and guidance I would be lost in this world.

So for this month, and hopefully for every month to come, I want to remember what matters most. To say I love you more. To help others often. And never let a problem to be solved become more important than a person to be loved.

Leave a Reply

