Wrapping up 2012

It’s been a while. A lot has happened in the last few weeks.

On Christmas Eve when I was getting Carter dressed for the day, he CRAWLED! Talk about a sweet early Christmas present. It was kind of a hop scoot across the floor,SAM_1349 but I was really excited that Daniel got to see his first crawl too. Since then he has gotten pretty good at getting places. He is especially good when I leave him in his room to play. Even though he has all his toys, he’ll crawl (while whining) into the hall to see what I’m doing.

He is also starting to pull himself up on furniture. We went to Grandma’s house for Christmas and New Years and he got his first “indent/bump” on his forehead from falling on a chair leg.

We also had Christmas! Carter loved it. He got so excited when he found out that under the wrapping paper and bows, was toys! We had a relaxing Christmas morning just the three of us, followed by a few hours with the Turleys, and then the evening with Grandma and Grandpa Carter.103_0991

Then wouldn’t you know, as soon as Christmas was over, me and Carter got sick. It was pretty brutal. The Thursday after Christmas was the worst though. When Daniel got home from work, Carter had a fever of 102.5. I went and got some fever reducer, which Carter promptly threw up. It was one of those nights where, as a mom, I felt helpless. A small freak out and a pile of vomit cover clothes later. We got him to keep the medicine down and waited until morning to visit his pediatrician.

Apparently Carter had all the symptoms of RSV, so the doctor ran the test to see if he had it. Luckily his test came back negative for RSV, but positive for bronchiolitis. Unfortunately there is no way to treat it, so we just had to wait it out. He is doing great now, and 20130103-135428.jpgaside from a slightly stuffy nose is all better. Oh, and in case you’re wondering Carter weighed 18lbs 6oz this doctor visit

I on the other hand don’t seem to mend as quick as Carter. I started off with pretty much the same symptoms as Carter, except mine included a cough that kept me up all night. Now that most of that has gone away, I’m developing a sore tonsil? I don’t know, all I know is that it hurts to swallow. No bueno.

Now it is a new year and I have to admit so far, not so great. Starting a New Year off sick makes things a little harder. Things like exercising and eating healthy are just the last thing on my list when all I want is soup and sleep. I think maybe when I get better, I’ll have my own New Year, where I can start fresh, feeling good.

As for New Years resolutions, I have tons. But I think I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a comment